Skip to content

Ka Pow WOW

December 20, 2008

The only word that accurately describes accessories line Ka Pow Wow is “kooky.” In this case, it couldn’t be more endearing. Inspired by Jacobean ruffles as well as natural structures such as fruit and coral, designer Mia handcrafts the line of neckpieces from recycled textiles sourced from London’s freecycle network. Each piece is organic in nature, and all are completely wearable, either with a simple t-shirt and jeans, or your favorite cocktail dress. Buydefinition picks the mind of the creative genius behind Ka Pow Wow below:

Mia of Ka Pow Wow

Mia of Ka Pow Wow

Why the name Ka Pow Wow? How did it all start?
KA POW WOW is sort of comic book onomatopoeia. I thought it would be a relevant name for high impact party wear.

Describe a typical day in your life.
Ruffling, ruffling, ruffling away.

What three things got you to where you are today?
1) My parents raised, educated and influenced me greatly.
2) Shoreditch based cult shop NO-ONE boutique was the first to introduce my work onto the scene.
3) After spending six years in London I recently relocated my studio to beautiful Lisbon, Portugal. This move was pretty much the work of my oldest university friend Ricardo.

If you could have a super power, what would it be and why?
To fly. That’d be dope.

Who is your style icon?
Bjork

What do you wear on a typical day?
I wear sneakers everyday and usually some sort of neckwear like scraps of fabric for scarves or necklaces.

What do you do during your free time?
Party hard with friends.

Check out the Ka Pow Wow collection here.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. joji goto permalink
    January 8, 2009 8:45 pm

    yeah.. i love this girl..the photo her product..
    ka pow wow..i am a fan..

  2. mika permalink
    January 8, 2009 10:16 pm

    woot woot!

  3. John L permalink
    January 9, 2009 5:40 am

    Congratulations Mia! I’m wishing you all the best.
    JL

  4. Amy permalink
    January 9, 2009 8:03 am

    Yay, Mia!!
    Love.

  5. Jack "The Shining" Nicholson permalink
    January 9, 2009 11:43 am

    I’m Baaaack.
    Love your style.
    Glad to hear I can get KaPow Wow wear here in LA
    Got anything to accentuate widows peaks ?

  6. Arnold the Governator permalink
    January 9, 2009 11:45 am

    I’ve been wearing Ka Pow Wow since Maria turned me on to it. I think it will definitely help me achieve my presidential aspirations. People don’t notice my accent when I don your hip garb.

  7. Jack "the shining" permalink
    January 9, 2009 11:48 am

    I’m Baaaack.
    Love your style
    I’m thrilled that I can now get Ka Pow Wow in LA.
    Can you whip me up something that accentuates my widow’s peaks ?

Leave a Reply

