Skip to content

Our Little Chat with … Michelle Nguyen Williams

June 25, 2009

Lucky for us here at Buydefinition – we scored an interview with Michelle Williams, designer of Quail! Quail, the 1960’s slang term to describe a woman with the ability to find beauty in all things, will have no trouble in inspiring you to find beauty in its pieces. Check out the collection of Quail we carry at BD: [Quail]

Here is what Michelle had to say to us:

1. Tell us about what inspires you when you design your collection.
Michelle: Sweet yet slightly rebellious girls who enjoy life!

2. How is your line different from your competition?
Michelle: We love dresses and separates that make for a fun, edgy, and feminine look that can go from day to night. The collection is versatile but also has a unique, stand-out quality that makes everyone feel great.

3. What made you want to begin designing and how did you take your first steps in doing so?

Michelle: Since I was a young girl, I always expressed myself through the clothes I would wear. My first real stab at sewing was in my 8th grade home economics class. First it was a pillow then slowly I begin to find pieces in my own closet that I could re-invent. It became a passion of mine to make things my own.

4. What has been one of the most difficult times in your career and what has been one of the most rewarding?
Michelle: When I first started Quail, I had to overcome many obstacles, ranging from working from my room to financial instability. Starting your own business at 23 is not easy but it has been the best learning experience. Overcoming these obstacles and making it through the other side has been the most rewarding part of my job. It’s a daily reminder for me that this is what I was made to do.

5. Describe one of your favorite outfits to wear.
Michelle: Lately, you would likely find me wearing Levi 501 cut offs, my black platform wedges, a destroyed Quail t-shirt, chunky silver jewelry, and bright lipstick ranging from orange to neon red.

6. What is an average day for you? Do you have any hobbies that you like to do during your free time?
Michelle: An average day for me entails driving to downtown LA, tending to emails, fittings, meetings, researching for different fabric and trims, and the occasional peep at my favorite blogs.

Outside of doing Quail, I love gardening, going to antique fairs, traveling, designing bridesmaid dresses for friends, pilates, and just recently, I took up cycling.


7. What is one of your favorite quotes that you would like to share with your fans?

Michelle: “Honey, please…make sure to wear sunscreen and floss!” – my mom

Comments are closed.

