Skip to content

Interview with Tran Pham Huke of Tranish

June 8, 2010

Tran is a local Austin fashion blogger that Buy Definition has had its eye on recently. We liked her so much we decided to use her as one of our very own fresh faces of the website. In lieu of her BD modeling, we interviewed the little lady to get her keen perspective on life, fashion and get a peek at who she is outside of blogging and looking like a stunner.

What’s the one thing you cannot live without?
Laughter. It makes my world go round.

What do you like best about fashion?
The freedom to do whatever you want. Fashion is a true form of art – it’s way to express yourself and create or put something together that no one else will. To me, it’s an illustration of one’s personality, a peek inside their world. You can tell a lot about a person from the way he or she dresses. It’s a way to keep expanding one’s world – changing and evolving in a positive way. I really champion change. As a little girl, I used to think it was silly that fashion was so fickle and ever so changing. Now I appreciate that more than ever and I think it’s absolutely necessary to keep changing with the times. As human beings, the worse thing we can do is to stay stagnant. Fashion reflects the change of culture and people. Fashion to me, is like an Impressionist painting – fleeting, but extremely beautiful, in the moment, and always.

If you won $10,000, what would you do?
In August, my husband and I are moving to Stockholm to attend graduate school, where I’ll be studying Fashion! As exciting as it is, we really need money, as soon to be starving grad students. So if I won $10,000 right now, I would put it toward the first several months of our living expenses in Stockholm J Some of it will be used for fashion, of course.

What do you fear most?
I can’t think of anything but cockroaches right now. But I probably fear the unchanging most.

How has your style evolved over the years and where do you see it going?
Well, my style has gained new layers with every year, with every growth phase. Not to say it has become complex, but a lot more…thoughtful. From a decade ago, I started wearing quite “sophisticated” clothes for my age (the wistful high school student mimicking Mom) to very short-lived tomboy period (think Bermuda shorts, boxy t-shirts, and flip flops), which quickly evaporated probably about the time I went to Tokyo for a month, in 2004. Japanese fashion has definitely been inspiring to me. I’ve jumped back and forth between that and more of a boho chic/easy hippie style (living in Austin, Texas will do that to you) in more recent years. Now, I think I just try to keep it classy, romantic, and sweet, but with a dash of daring. I definitely am still heading in this direction, but I want to be more open and experimental about trying new styles that I would have never thought to. I want my outfits and styles to be continuously surprising and I would like to challenge myself even more with putting together outfits that would be outrageous, but somehow work, at least for me. It’s my art.

Why is your blog called “tranish?”
In high school, most of my friends thought I was very…unique, to put it mildly. Thus, anything that reminded them of me, whether it was a movie, food, moment, etc, they’d describe it as “tranish,” and eventually I become a product of my own adjective. My family and close friends really understand the essence of “tranish.” Most of them call me tranish instead of Tran, which I always love. After I got married and was in the process of taking my husband’s surname, my mom suggested I also officially change my first name to tranish. Now, when your own mom thinks you should change the name she gave you at birth, that’s something to think about (however, I forgot to make the change, for the better I think.) Now, I like to tell people that “Tran” is short for tranish.

What is the favourite piece of clothing hanging in your closet right now?
A pair of blue high-waisted shorts with gold buttons on the front. It is so flattering and fun to wear and I am still not quite over the nautical look this season. I’ve worn it a couple of times with different tops and so far I have loved pairing it with my black and white striped bodysuit. It makes me feel like a little French boater gal, about to embark on the adventure of her life and ready for anything.

[Photos above from Tranish blog]

Check her out on our site:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

